Retail Me Not Mobile App

Retail Me Not, Mobile App, Smartphone, TabletIn a world where media messages are fighting for your attention, and everyone is always connected to their smartphones and tablets, companies are creating mobile apps to aid in their marketing efforts. My iPhone is filled with all sorts of different mobile apps, from Angry Birds to Google Maps. I recently downloaded the free Retail Me Not app, in order to see how businesses are utilizing mobile apps. The app’s description stated that it contained thousands of coupons and deals to the places you love to shop. 

After downloading Retail Me Not, you’re asked if you would like push notifications. I opted out of this option because I already have too much going on on my phone. However, from the standpoint of a business, I think it’s good to ask consumers if they’ll allow the push notifications. If they say yes, you can constantly keep them updated with what’s going on with your business, and you can always remain fresh in their minds.

Retail Me Not, Mobile App, Shopping, Tablet, Marketing

After denying push notifications, I was asked if I wanted to find deals nearby. If you allowed theapp to track your location, they could tell you all the deals within your local area. While I normally wouldn’t allow most apps to track me, for the sake of my research, I allowed the app to access my location. Upon my approval, a long list of stores appeared on my screen. It wasn’t just clothing stores, it was restaurants, auto supply stores, etc. Along with the store name, it showed the deal that was being offered. For example, Best Buy was offering 20 percent off small appliances, in store and online. If you find a deal that you like, you have the option of saving it on the app, that way you can access it when you’re in the store.

Retail Me Not, Mobile App, Shopping, Tablet, Marketing

If you want to access the deal right away, you can click on the image and either claim the offer or share it with friends. I clicked on share to see where Retail Me Not allowed consumers to tell their friends about the deal. App users can share deals viatext message, email, Facebook or Twitter. The share feature is great because it will help attract more people to the Retail Me Not App. If you see one of your Facebook friends sharing a deal, you’re more likely to access that deal because you know who they are and you have already established trust with that person.

If you want to go beyond local deals, you have the option of searching trending deals. You can choose to search in-store deals or online deals. I was impressed by the number of deals for national retailers within the app. If you’re looking for a specific item but don’t have a specific store in mind, Retail Me Not allows you to search from a list of categories including: Automotive, Beauty, Clothing, Furniture, among many others. There really is something for every shopper.

 

Retail Me Not, Mobile App, Shopping, Tablet, Marketing

Finally, if you’re out and about and you spot a good deal, the app allows you to snap a photo and share your savings with other shoppers. The app takes the shopping and saving experience full circle.

Overall, I think the Retail Me Not app is beneficial for mobile users. They no longer have to worry about carrying around or finding that coupon, because they have them right at their fingertips. I will definitely be saving the app on my phone and using it to score some deals the next time I’m at the mall or going out to dinner! 

12 thoughts on “Retail Me Not Mobile App

  1. Hi Lauren. 😉

    I love RetailMeNot. It’s a great resource for producing legitimate, up-to-date coupons at a plethora of fine retailers, venues, and dining establishments.

    The app runs perfectly on the iOS, and you can organize your favorite stores into categories or save as favorites, which makes it easy to spot a good deal when you need it. 😉

    I prefer the website to the app simply because, like you, my iPhone is the life of the party. Nevertheless, when I google onetime coupons I end up on RetailMeNot. Did you know Google search engine app? What for???

    Anyways, you wrote a great review Lauren.

    • Hey Jason! Thank you! I checked out the website, and much like the app, it’s organized really well and offers a lot of great offers. I think the advantage of the app over the website is that consumers are easily able to locate and show their promotions or offers. I know with my phone, it doesn’t always get the greatest internet service in every store, so I wouldn’t want to be trying to load the website while I’m in line and have people waiting for me to pull it up. Either way, both are pretty great for people who are looking to score deals!

    • Even though I’m a fan of the app, I’m not going to allow the push notifications. The only thing I want instant notifications from are text messages, email and phone calls/voicemails. The rest, I don’t need!

  2. This is a great platform. Anytime I make any purchases online, I always check with RetailMeNot to see if they offer any promotions or discounts. Somehow, I never knew that they created an app, I’m still just using their website.
    I can see how you don’t like the app to track your location, but I’ve started to allow it more and more. If it can get me a better deal, it’s worth it. Their services are great, and even offering in store discounts for people is a definite plus. Good point about establishing trust from people who send you the deal. It’s always nice when doing these types of things that you are getting the word from someone who has experienced it, definite trust builder.

    • I didn’t know the site or app existed until I saw it on list of most downloaded apps. Now that I know it exists, I’ll definitely be using it whenever I’m out and about! This is one app where I completely understand why it would benefit consumers to allow the GPS tracking. You’re obviously more likely to use a deal for a store or restaurant thats’ right down the street, than a deal for a businesses that is hours away from wherever you’re located.

  3. After reading the post and hearing everyone’s views this app deems a second look. So much easier than carrying around old fashioned coupons. OK, Ok, it’s time to get a SmartPhone, hey is there a coupon for that? I bet there is.

  4. I will admit that I am a coupon addict…not extreme couponing but I still like to carry my coupon folder at the grocery store so your blog really intrigued me. I’ve heard mixed reviews about RetailMeNot. I’ve heard the push notifications can be very aggressive (i.e. nonstop). I’m not a big fan of that. I hate getting push notifications on my phone! That being said your blog really does warrant a second look at the app. I like that RetailMeNot offers deals for across a variety of platforms and how much proximity plays a role in their strategy. RetailMeNot reminds me of Groupon but more GPS oriented which I like. I hate getting on Groupon or Living Social and finding a deal that’s 60 miles away! Very interesting post! Let us know if you end up using it!

    • I hate push notifications as well! I’m glad I didn’t allow them if the app annoyingly sends them all the time! I’ve used the Groupon website before, and I actually like the formation of the Retail Me Not app better. I’m actually hoping to use the app this weekend!

  5. Hi Lauren,

    This sounds like a great app! I might actually download it to take a look at it. I’m not really into coupons and the like, but I do like to know whenever stores are having some sort of deal going on. I also like the idea of people being able to snap a shot of a deal they see, and share it with everyone. I think I’ll give this app a try, and if it’s good I might actually recommend it to my students! At the start of every semester, the university has hundreds of new international students arriving, and they’re all in need of the essentials for their new homes. This app could be very useful for them!

    • I’m not one to clip a bunch of coupons either, but I do love a good deal or sale! This app sounds like it might be perfect for the international students needing essentials. I’m hoping to actually try it out this weekend, so hopefully it will be as useful as I think it is!

Leave a Reply

