Content is King

One of the keys to successful social media is content. If you create high-quality content that centralizes on a specific interest or topic, social media users are going to want to read what you have to say. As Solis said, social media is evolving into an era of content that is defined by shared interests. If you write what you’re passionate about, that passion will transcend through social media, and make a personal connection to the reader.

Pam Moore gives some great tips on how to keep your social media audiences engaged, but I think it’s a lot more concise. All 50 of her points could be summed up by number twelve: Respect your audiences’ time, attention and presence. If you’re respecting their time and attention, you will be entertaining them, listening to them, and ultimately giving them what they want.

Guy Kawaki’s advice to find and share content from other social media users is beneficial for multiple reasons. Sharing other users’ content helps you form a connection to that person, and they’ll be more likely to read your content. If the user’s content that you’re sharing is seen as a professional in your topic area, that will help you to establish yourself as a leader in the topic. I’ve found that when I’m struggling to create content on my wedding blog, sharing others’ photos or content usually helps me attract more followers. Kawaki’s advice to share content that’s trending isn’t only applicable to blogs, it’s also extremely relevant on Pinterest, a site that’s all about sharing. I’ll look for content that has been repinned a lot, and I’ll pin it to attract a larger audience.

This article talks about sharing content on Twitter when you don’t have any engaging content of your own.

I was surprised to learn that you shouldn’t include any pets or spouses in your social network pictures. I can understand why you wouldn’t want a picture of you and all of your college friends as your LinkedIn photo, because that site is geared toward business. Is it really detrimental to have a picture of you and your dog or you and your spouse as your Facebook profile picture? I don’t believe it is. Facebook is a site that is intended for personal connections, and posting personal pictures only helps you increase your human connection.

It also was surprising to me that you can tweet the same content multiple times. Despite Twitter’s transitory nature, if someone I followed tweeted the same thing multiple times in a day, I would stop reading their tweets. The repetition is like advertising, and if you keep promoting the same thing over and over instead of engaging your followers, they’re going to tune you out. Do you agree, or do you think the repetition helps to get your point across or to promote you ideas?

10 thoughts on “Content is King

  1. Lauren, thank you for discussing having personal aspects of your life in your profile picture. Personally, if it is a truly social only profile, then no, I don’t think having things like a picture of your dog in your profile picture is a problem. I think it becomes a problem when we want to build our profiles beyond a social scope. You want people to “find” your dog and be interested in the story about your dog rather than have it forced on them right from the beginning. People create their own stories when there are things to create one with in a default, and that can be a problem. I guess what I’m trying to say is a default should only deter people from leaving your page, not be an element of content creation if that makes sense? Great post and thanks for discussing repeat content on my blog, I think it is also a very interesting aspect of social media and Twitter specifically.

    • Jake,

      Thanks for reading and responding to my post! I completely get what you’re saying about the profile picture. You always have to be aware of how potential connections, consumers or employers might be viewing the image you’re displaying. Just because you view it one way, doesn’t mean that they’re not getting a whole different vibe, so I guess it’s best to just be cautious and display a simple head shot.

      Lauren

  2. Lauren,

    I find Facebook an interesting platform. I dont really want to use my personal profile for professional purposes. I know every single person on my friends list. I feel that personal and professional profiles need to be separated, that is why Facebook has Fan and Business pages. I believe that moving into the future I will probably build a business page instead of using my personal one. There are certain things I would rather keep private.

    I struggle with the idea of repeating posts on Twitter, but someone way smarter and accomplished than me said so. As I follow more and more people I am starting to see the point of repeating tweets. I barely read 1/3 of all the tweets I get. The AP easily takes up half my feed as do other news sources. I have always been taught not to badger people with repetative messages but Twitter may be unique in this due to the large volume of tweets.

    Janis

    • Janis,

      Now that I’m adding more people and brands on Twitter, I’m quickly starting to understand the benefit of retweeting your messages to make sure people read them. When I was following fewer people it was easy to read everything people were saying. Now, I scroll through most tweets without even looking at them just to get to the top of my twitter feed! I guess if businesses want to get noticed, they have to do whatever it takes, even if that means annoying customers who follow less people.

      Lauren

  3. Lauren,

    I think depending on which Facebook profile you are running (Personal or Professional) determines whether or not it is detrimental for that individual to have a profile picture with them and their dog or another respective relative. I typically judge people on a personal as well as professional level based off of their profile pictures. A picture says 1000 words and gives others lots of insight about what type of person you may or may not be. While, I do agree with you that Facebook is for personal connections and you are supposed to reach out to people on a more human level, I will say that I have been disgusted by some of the profile pictures I have seen people have on Linkedin-the PROFESSIONAL social networking site. I can’t help but wonder what is wrong with some of these people? At the end of the day, it all boils down to what you want your Brand Image and Awareness to reflect about you and your company.

    And yes I do believe repetition does help individuals get their point across as well as helps promote their ideas. Just with anything else- perfecting a dish, honing a craft, being the best at your particular position in a Sport–Practice and Repetition is KEY for succeeding and being the best at what you do. Social Media isn’t any different and the same rule applies. And if I hear or see the benefits of a particular product or service more than once, whether it’s from traditional ads, social media, or word-of mouth I am more apt purchase it and give it a try.

    • Tammy,

      Yeah, LinkedIn is definitely a social network where you would want to use a more professional shot, or at least a simple head shot. The more people I follow on Twitter, the more I understand an organization’s desire to retweet their message. It’s hard to read and keep up-to-date on what everyone is tweeting, even if you are monitoring your Twitter feed every second of the day! If a brand wants to get their message out there, it’s probably best to send it multiple times.

      Lauren

  4. Facebook is site that has thrived on personal connections. I think a guideline for me is to not post anything that I would be embarrassed to talk about with my parents or other people that I hold a lot of respect for. I love Twitter and how quickly you can get snippets of information, but I do think brands need to walk a fine line with Twitter and ho often they post the same message so that people to not get sick of them and unfollow.

    • Emily,

      I completely agree with you. If I noticed that a brand was constantly pushing the same message for me to buy something, I’d stop following them. Luckily with the amount of people I follow and how rapidly a Twitter feed changes, I’d be unlikely to notice! I also try to monitor what type of pictures I’m posting on Facebook. Recently, I removed a lot of pictures from college that didn’t necessarily portray the image that I wanted future employers and connections to see.

      Lauren

  5. I think that posting pictures of your pets and husband on your Facebook account should be considered natural. Facebook is suppose to be a connection platform that allows you to connect with family, friends, acquaintences. It’s suppose to be a glimpse into your life, right? My pet is a part of the life, so if I have a pic, shouldn’t I share. But not on LinkedIn since its professional. But in my computer education classes, I encourage people to consider what you are posting. Not only is everyone looking, but potential employers and dates are looking also, so only post what you want the world to know.

    • I agree that Facebook would seem like the network where you could share more personal pictures. I can understand if you had separate Facebook accounts (one for personal use, one for professional use) and you wanted a simple head shot on your professional page, but if I was an employer, I wouldn’t pass over a potential employee because they had a dog or spouse in their Facebook profile picture.

Leave a Reply

